Tsumago-Magome ~Old Edo Post Towns


◎Tsumago-juku (post station)

Tsumago-juku (妻籠宿 Tsumago-juku) was the 42nd of the 69 post towns on the ancient Nakasendō highway.

It is located in Nagiso, Kiso District, Nagano Prefecture. It has been restored to its original  Edo-period post town appearance and is now a popular tourist destination.

20160921145721 20150805143906     20150926145732

20150829110848     20160922135219
Through landscape conservation activities, the original landscape is maintained even now.
Tsumago-juku and Magome-juku is separated by a distance of 9 km along the Nakasendo. You can enjoy and appreciate the natural beauty as you stroll along the road.




◎Magome-juku (post station)

Magome-juku once belonged to  Yamaguchi village, Kiso-gun, Nagano Prefecture. But in 2005 Magome-juku was incorporated into Nakatsugawa City, Gifu Prefecture.

Magome-juku (馬籠宿) was the 43rd of the 69 stations on the Nakasendō road. It was also the last of 11 stations along the Kisoji, which was an older part of the Nakasendō. This well-preserved section of the old route is currently in Nakatsugawa City, Gifu Prefecture. Magome is a post station along the slope that has been laid with cobblestone.

Every year many tourists visit there. The stone pavement is lined on both sides by souvenir shops.
This area will take you back to the good old days of the Edo period.



The Nakasendō (中山道), AKA Kisokaidō (木曾街道), was one of the five routes of the Edo period, and one of two that connected Edo (modern-day Tokyo) to Kyoto. There were 69 stations between Edo and Kyoto, passing through Musashi, Kōzuke, Shinano, Mino and Ōmi provinces. The Nakasendō also runs through the modern-day prefectures of Saitama, Gunma, Nagano, Gifu and Shiga. It is approximately 534 km long.

tsumago     magome

Magome-juku                                                                             Tsumago-juku


A few sections of the Nakasendō have been modernized, a few stretches remain in its original form, while others have been restored in more recent decades. The most popular section lies in Kiso Valley. This area was first made famous by the 20th century writer Shimazaki Tōson. He wrote about the impacts of the Meiji Restoration on the valley in his novel “Before the Dawn”. This section of the Nakasendō can still be traversed comfortably on foot. The walk between the two historical post towns takes around two to three hours. Forests, restored pavements and fine views of waterfalls awaits one along the way. Though much of the Nakasendō no longer exists, its route is still roughly followed by modern roads.








● From Tokyo district (train)
Tokyo Station ⇒ “Tokaido Shinkansen” ⇒ Nagoya Station ⇒ “Chuo Line JR” ⇒ Nakatsugawa Station ⇒ “bus” ⇒ Magome-juku
・Nakatsugawa Station ⇔ Magome – regular bus
・Magome ⇔ Tsumakago-nagiso station – regular bus

● From Osaka and Nagoya district (train)
Shin-Osaka Station ⇒ “Tokaido Shinkansen (1 hour)” ⇒ Nagoya Station ⇒ “Chuo Line JR (about 1 hour)” ⇒ Nakatsugawa Station ⇒ “bus (25 minutes)” ⇒ Magome-juku
Namba Station ⇒ “Kintetsu Nagoya line (2 hours)” ⇒ Nagoya Station ⇒ “Chuo Line JR (about 1 hour)” ⇒ Nakatsugawa Station ⇒ “bus (25 minutes)” ⇒ Magome-juku

● From various quarters (car)
Tomei Expressway and Central Motorway ⇒ Nakatsugawa I.C⇒ national highway No. 19 ⇒ Magome-juku(Nakatsugawa about 20 minutes from the IC)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *